The History of Shagbert!

 

Why you would be interested in me is beyond my comprehension. I don't find myself interesting, but I like weird people and I'm the most normal person I know (though my friends would differ!).

I was born in Ishmeping, Michigan (in the USA for everyone outside the States). And have lived in Rifle, Colorado; Liverpool, New York (state, not city); Flushing, Michigan; Annapolis, Maryland; Rockville, Maryland; Kalamazoo, Michigan; and Plymouth, Michigan.

I've managed to (almost) graduate from GMI Engineering & Management Institute (believe it or not, the & was part of the official name) which is (as of January 1, 1998) now called Kettering University. I survived the electrical engineering program there (quite a feat as it is the most difficult program at the school) with a bachelors of science.

While at GMI, I fell in with a group of gentlemen at Sigma Nu Fraternity, Eta Mu Chapter. Yea, it sounds like a contradiction, gentlemen and fraternity, but I'll vouch it's true. If you know anyone going to GMI/Kettering, have them check out the fraternity -- the membership is always looking for new friends, member or not.

So why Shagbert? Well, I've had a few nicknames at the frat house. The ones that have stuck are Shaggy (whom I resemble), Shagbert (the Dilbert version of Shaggy), and Shag (just a short version of both).

So, what do I do in my spare time? Well, I'm trying a bit of everything. The current list, though, is: reading, writing, programming, MUDing, leatherworking, sewing cooking, my car, role playing games, crafts, camping, hiking, gardening, backpacking, net-surfing, control systems (computer controllers), cooking, knots, rope use... well, I could keep going, but you've probably stopped reading this paragraph already. :) Let's just say I like to learn new things. So long as it's not something like bungee-jumping (which I still consider insane!), I'm willing to try it.

Other than that, I've got 2 sisters (both younger), both parents still living (knock on wood), and my sister's dog as relations (yea, the dog is definitely part of the family).

Well, that's it. Click here to get back to the main page.


Email me at: shagbert@ix.netcom.com