TIMELINE / SCHEDULE OF CONCLAVE




Monday, April 18 

10 a.m. (3 a.m. CST; 4 p.m. Manila): The cardinals celebrate a morning Mass. 

4:30 p.m. (9:30 a.m. CST; 10:30 p.m. Manila): Cardinals process into the Sistine Chapel. 
They then  take their oath of  secrecy and hear a meditation from a senior cardinal. After
taking their oath, the cardinals will decide  whether they will take a first vote on Monday or
wait until Tuesday morning. 

Tuesday, April 19 

7:30 a.m. (12:30 a.m. CST; 1:30 p.m. Manila): Cardinals celebrate Mass in the hotel chapel. 

9 a.m. (2 a.m. CST; 3 p.m. Manila): Cardinals gather in Sistine Chapel for an initial two rounds of balloting. 

Noon (5 a.m. CST; 6 p.m. Manila): Approximate time of first smoke signal from Sistine Chapel. 
It will indicate  whether a new pope has been chosen (white smoke) or no decision has been
made  (black smoke)  in the first round of balloting.  The smoke is from the burning of the secret 
ballots after  each round of  voting. 

4 p.m. (9 a.m. CST; 10 p.m. Manila): Cardinals return to the Sistine Chapel for two rounds of afternoon balloting. 

7 p.m. (12 p.m. CST; 1 p.m. Manila): Approximate time of smoke signal after second round of voting. 


Back to Tribute to Pope John Paul II